Home Affairs Launches Online System



Notorious for extremely long queues, hours of waiting time and the dreaded offline system, Home Affairs have launched an online booking service with the goal of assisting clients quickly.




The Department of Home Affairs (DHA) have officially launched the Branch Appointment Booking System (BABS). The system will allow individuals to make an electronic booking and save them from spending hours in long queues outside home affairs offices.

“Selected Home Affairs will process smart ID and passport applications only for clients who have booked an appointment through the Branch Appointment System” explained the DHA.

The department says the BABS will reduce long queues and waiting times at offices while simultaneously minimising the risk of the spread of Covid-19.

Individuals who made bookings will be prioritised and will be allowed in the office to follow the normal internal processes. People who do not have bookings will still be served, however they will be served when a spot becomes available.

The system only allows clients with valid South Africa ID numbers to make bookings. If you do not have an SA ID number, you will not be able to make a booking on the Home Affairs online booking system.

The system will automatically send clients an SMS/email reminder three days before the appointment date to ensure that you don't forget about the appointment you made.

An appointment can be cancelled after you receive confirmation of a booking. The system allows clients to cancel or reschedule appointments. Appointment slots are displayed for a client to select a new date.

Appointments are not transferable, so you cannot make an appointment and then give the slot to a friend or family member.

You Will Need The Following Information To Make A Booking Home Affairs Online System

  • Full name and surname
  • Cell phone number
  • Email address (optional)

The Home Affairs Online Booking System Will Be Used At The Following Offices




  • Byron
  • Akasia
  • Alexandra
  • Soweto
  • Centurion
  • Roodepoort
  • Randburg
  • Alberton
  • Edenvale

Western Cape

  • Cape Town - Barrack Street,
  • Bellville
  • Paarl
  • Wynberg
  • Khayelitsha
  • George


  • Ndwedwe
  • Tongaat

Eastern Cape

  • Lusikisiki
  • Mthatha
  • Gqeberha

North West

  • Brits
  • Rustenburg
  • Klerksdorp


  • Groblersdal
  • Jane Furse