Matric Exam Marking Starts Today


Now that matric exams are out of the way, teachers have started marking papers written by more than 1 million candidates this year. Results are set to be released on 23 February 2021. 

The Department of Basic Education has hired a total of 45 000 markers who will be marking 14 million scripts at 181 marking centres nationwide. 

Marking will take place over the course of 18 days before results are finalised and released. 

In a media briefing held in December, Basic Education Minister Angie Motshekga said the department will present an irregularity report to Umalusi before announcing the results. 

"The DBE will present an irregularities report to UmaIusi, and thereafter wait for the quality assurance agency to make an announcement on the integrity, credibility and fairness of the 2020 NSC examinations,” said Basic Education Minister Angie Motshekga.

Three provinces started the marking process earlier than other provinces in an effort to finish before the deadline of 22 January 2021. 

"Three PEDs (Limpopo, Mpumalanga and Gauteng) adopted a staggered approach. Commenced with marking of selected subjects, where there are marker shortages, in early December." said the department. 

The updated level 3 regulations have made the department review its marking protocols. Schools are allowed to accommodate more than 50 markers, but marking rooms may not have more than 20 markers in a room.

All teachers who will be marking the exam papers will be allowed to travel within the new curfew hours of 21h00 and 06h00. 

The department says it has committed itself to protecting the safety and wellbeing of all markers and administration officials at marking centres nationwide. 

"DBE will provide the national directives, which must be adhered to in all marking centres. This marking protocol must be implemented in conjunction with the Regulations pertaining ti the Conduct, Administration and Management of the National Senior Certificate Examinations."


 Marking Dates

Mpumalanga -

1 - 12 December 2020

4 - 22 January 2021


5 - 18 December 2020

6 - 19 January 2021


13 - 22 December 2020

5 - 22 January 2021

Western Cape  3 - 22 January 2021
Northern Cape 2 - 14 January 2021
Eastern Cape 4 - 21 January 2021
Free State 6 January - 21 January 2021
North West  6 January - 22 January 2021
KwaZulu- Natal 6 January - 22 January

Read Also: