National State Of Disaster Extended

CoGTA Minister Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma

Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (CoGTA) Minister, Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma has gazetted an extension of the National State of Disaster to 15 November 2021.

Dlamini Zuma explained that the extension was approved after consultations with all relative stakeholders. She said, “The extension takes into account the need to continue observing all non-pharmaceutical interventions against COVID-19 and increasing vaccinations as part of contingency measures being undertaken to mitigate against its impact,”.

Section 27(2) of the Disaster Management Act, 2002 (Act No. 57 of 2002) Act may, when required, make regulations or issue directions or authorise the issue of directions concerning the matters listed therein, only to the extent that it is necessary for the purpose of -

(a) assisting and protecting the public
(b) providing relief to the public
(c) protecting property
(d) preventing or combatting disruption
(e) dealing with the destructive and other effects of the disaster

Last month, President Cyril Ramaphosa explained why the state of disaster must remain in place. He said, “once sustainable sectoral regulatory measures for COVID-19 response are in place or the need to invoke current extraordinary measures provided for under the state of disaster ceases, all the Regulations and Directions issued under the national state of disaster will cease to exist”.

South Africa is currently on Alert Lockdown Level 1. The current curfew is from 00:00 to 04:00 and indoor establishments like gyms, restaurants, casinos and theatres can close at 23:00. Interprovincial travel is also permitted during Alert Lockdown Level 1.



Read Also: