Ramaphosa Cabinet Reshuffle Sees Big Changes


President Cyril Ramaphosa has announced his first national Cabinet.  Since he took over from Jacob Zuma as President of the country there has been much speculation on who he will fire, and who he will bring into the Cabinet.

David Mabuza, Zweli Mkhize and Nhlanhla Nene are all to be sworn in as a members of parliament on Tuesday. Once they have been sworn in, President Ramaphosa announced that David Mabuza will be the new Deputy President of the country.

Zweli Mkhize will be the new Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs and Nhlanhla Nene will be the new Finance Minister. Current Finance Minister Malusi Gigaba moves back to his previous position at Home Affairs.

There was no change for Basic Education and for the Labour portfolio.  The current Minister of Higher Education and Training, Professor Mkhize has lost her job and she has been replaced with Naledi Pandor.

Former Higher Education and Training Minister, and SA Communist Party leader, Dr Blade Nzimande is back in government with the Transport portfolio.

All board members of State Owned Enterprises will know that they are in for a tough time, as the very experienced former-Finance Minister Pravin Gordhan will be in charge of getting the SOEs into shape.

New Ministers:

Communications: Nomvula Mokonyane

Higher Education and Training: Naledi Pandor

Home Affairs: Malusi Gigaba

Human Settlements: Nomaindia Mfeketo

International Relations and Cooperation: Lindiwe Sisulu

Mineral Resources: Gwede Mantashe

Police: Bheki Cele

Public Enterprises: Pravin Gordhan

Public Service and Administration: Ayanda Dlodlo

Public Works: Thulas Nxesi

Rural Development and Land Reform: Maite Nkoana-Mashabane

Science and Technology: Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane

Social Development: Susan Shabangu

Sport and Recreation: Tokozile Xasa

State Security: Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba

The Presidency: Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation: Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

The Presidency: Women: Bathabile Dlamini

Tourism: Derek Hanekom

Transport: Blade Nzimande

Water and Sanitation: Gugile Nkwinti


The President also announced the following Deputy Ministers: 


Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries: Sfiso Buthelezi

Communications: Pinky Kekana

Finance: Mondli Gungubele

Public Service and Administration: Chana Pilane-Majeke

Small Business Development: Cassel Mathale


The positions of Deputy Minister of Public Enterprises and Deputy Minister in the Presidency for Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation will remain vacant.


Former Ministers who are without jobs now include Des Van Rooyen, Fikile Mbalula, Mosobenzi Zwane, Faith Muthambi, Bongani Bongo and Lynne Brown.