University of Cape Town - Info Page


The University of Cape Town was founded in 1829. UCT's main campus is situated at the foot of Devil's Peak, giving it a beautiful view of the Cape Flats below. Other campuses are situated at the Waterfront and Hiddingh, in the heart of Cape Town.
The current Chancellor of UCT is Graça Machel, the fifth person to hold the position. The post of Vice-Chancellor is currently held by Dr Max Price, who is responsible for the leadership of the university.

University of Cape Town - Info Page

Read on to find out more about UCT, what faculties it has and how to apply.


UCT has six faculties:

  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Commerce
  • Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Engineering & the Built Environment

The university also has two other separate departments:

  • UCT Graduate School of Business
  • Centre for Higher Education and Development

Thinking of applying to study at the University of Cape Town? Visit our page on the application process here and find out how to go about it!