University of the Western Cape - Info Page


The University College of the Western Cape was established in 1959 as a constituent college of the University of South Africa, specifically for people classified as "Coloured". The first group enrolled in 1960. UWC gained university status in 1970.

University of the Western Cape - Info Page

In 1982, the University rejected the Apartheid ideology and finally gained autonomy in 1983.

The current Chancellor of the University of the Western Cape is Thabo Makgoba, with Professor Tyrone Pretorius serving as Vice-Chancellor of the University.


UWC has seven faculties:

  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Community and Health
  • Faculty of Dentistry
  • Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Natural Science

Thinking of applying to study at the University of the Western Cape? Click here to visit our page on the application process to find out how it works!

Please Add Your Comments Below: