Foundation Learning Competence : NQF Level 2

What’s FLC?

Foundational Learning Competence (FLC) is a part qualification that consists of two learning areas: Communication and Mathematical Literacy. It outlines the minimum level of competence required for optimal functioning in the world of work and for occupational learning at NQF Levels 2-4. It is a part qualification registered at NQF Level 2 and carries 40 credits in total.

 Each learning area carries 20 credits. The FLC is directed at learners in occupational qualifications registered on the NQF at Level 2, 3 and 4.

Communication and Mathematical Literacy have been identified as foundational for learners wanting to progress in their occupation and skills development, thus it is advisable to do the FLC before embarking on an occupational learning programme or qualification.

 The Curriculum 

  1. Foundational Communication
  • Writing
  • Speaking and listening
  • Visual literacy
  • Language structure and usage
  • Study skills
  • Workplace terminology

 Foundational Mathematical Literacy

  • Number and quantity
  • Finance
  • Data and chance
  • Measurement
  • Space and shape
  • Patterns and relationships 

Where can I do this?

The Cape Town School of English, situated in Claremont is a Private College that is registered with the Department of Higher Education and Training. The College is an accredited Skills Development Provider at the Quality Council for Trades and Occupations. The QCTO has approved the Independent Examinations Board (IEB) as the Assessment Quality partner (AQP) for the FLC.

Entry requirements for the FLC

Learners who are competent at ABET Level 3 or 4 in English or Maths Literacy, which is equivalent to

Grade 9 or NQF level 1.

It will be advisable that learners undertake a placement assessment with the relevant provider before doing the FLC. The placement assessment tries to ensure that the demands of the learning programme match the learner’s level of competence.


Contact Details

Contact Person: 

Carl Stassen
Course Details

Unit Standard: 


NQF Level: 

Level 2