University of the Witwatersrand Wits


Wits Logo

The University of Witwaterstrand (Wits University) is located in Johannesburg. They offer a range of degrees, diplomas and short courses as well as online and part time courses. Wits University is said to have produced more millionaires than any other university in South Africa.

Wits University has 5 faculties with 33 schools offering over 3000 courses.

Wits Campuses

There are 5 Wits University campuses in total. East and West Campus are located in Braamfontein. There are three other campuses located in Parktown, the Education Campus and the Medical and Management Schools.

Wits Courses

  • Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Commerce, Law and Management
  • Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment
  • Faculty of Humanities  
  • Faculty Science

Wits University also offers many short courses so one can study part-time or online.

Wits Fees

Fees are course specific. For more information, consult the website.

Wits Applications

Applications can be filled in online. For more information, consult their website.

Wits Student Accommodation

Wits has residences on campus that can accommodate students in 6 clusters and there is a bus service to assist students in getting to lectures.  If there is not accommodation available for students in residences there are also many other options available in Joburg near the campus. Please review our Student Accommodation Page for more details.

Delivery Method
Type of education institution
- Education Faculty
- Engineering & the Built Environment Faculty
- Health Sciences Faculty
- Science Faculty
- Commerce Faculty
- Law Faculty
- Humanities Faculty
Qualification Types
Advanced Diploma
National Diploma
Bachelors Degree
Higher Diploma
Honours Degree
Post Graduate Certificate
Post Graduate Diploma
Masters Degree
Institution Location




Google News

Recommended Reading: How To Use Google Scholar


Advertisement i

Advertisement m